

## Tuesday, April 21, 2020 6:00PM Zoom

We would like to respectfully acknowledge that our University and our Students' Union are located on Treaty 6 Territory. We are grateful to be on Cree, Dene, Saulteaux, Métis, Blackfoot, and Nakota Sioux territory; specifically the ancestral space of the Papaschase Cree. These Nations are our family, friends, faculty, staff, students, and peers. As members of the University of Alberta Students' Union we honour the nation-to-nation treaty relationship. We aspire for our learning, research, teaching, and governance to acknowledge and work towards the decolonization of Indigenous knowledges and traditions.

## MEETING CALLED TO ORDER AT 6:00PM

#### VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS (SC-2020-00)

- 2020-00/I SPEAKERS BUSINESS
- 2020-00/la Election of a Speaker

Applicant information will be distributed at the meeting.

**KIDD/EINARSON MOVED** to enter the meeting into in camera. Carried.

**DRAPER/KIDD MOVED** to enter Committee of the Whole. Carried.

**KONRAD/BOSE MOVED** to enter Committee of the Difference. Carried.

**BOSE/EINARSON MOVED** to exit the meeting from in camera. Carried.

**JARED LARSEN** is declared appointed as Students' Council Speaker for its 2020-2021 session.

- 2020-00/2 PRESENTATIONS
- 2020-00/3 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REPORT
- 2020-00/4 BOARD AND COMMITTEE REPORT
- 2020-00/5 <u>OPEN FORUM</u>
- 2020-00/6 QUESTION PERIOD

## 2020-00/7 BOARD AND COMMITTEE BUSINESS

## 2020-00/7a Nomination to Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation Committee (ARRC) (3)

DIXON nominated via presubmission. KIDD nominated DHILLON: accepted. BOSE nominated KONRAD: declined. KONRAD nominated FOTANG: declined. BOSE nominated EINARSON: accepted. KONRAD nominated MONTE: accepted. BOSE nominated YABUT: declined.

**DHILLON, DIXON, EINARSON** are declared appointed to Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation Committee via secret ballot.

#### 2020-00/7b Nomination to Audit Committee (7).

KORDE nominated via presubmission. BATYCKI nominated via presubmission. SARETZKY nominated via presubmission. AKKERMAN nominated via presubmission. DRAPER nominated OLIVEIRA: accepted. BOSE nominated BID: declined. DHILLON nominated BADESHA: accepted. DIXON nominated VILLOSO: accepted. BOSE nominated DHILLON: accepted. BOSE nominated HARIHARAN: accepted.

**AKKERMAN, BADESHA, BATYCKI, DHILLON, KORDE, OLIVEIRA, VILLOSO** are declared appointed to Audit Committee via secret ballot.

#### 2020-00/7c Nomination to Bylaw Committee (7)

OLIVEIRA nominated via presubmission. EINARSON nominated via presubmission. FOTANG nominated via presubmission. DRAPER nominated KRAHN: accepted. DIXON nominated MARQUES: accepted. DHILLON nominated FILI: declined. DRAPER nominated BOSE: declined. DRAPER nominated DIXON: accepted. SARETZKY nominated BUCHANAN: accepted. BOSE nominated DHILLON: declined. DRAPER nominated BADESHA: declined. YABUT nominated DE GRANO: accepted. DHILLON nominated KIMANI: declined. BOSE nominated BID: declined. **DE GRANO, DIXON, EINARSON, FOTANG, KRAHN, MARQUES, OLIVEIRA** are declared appointed to Bylaw Committee via secret ballot.

# 2020-00/7d Nomination to Council Administration Committee (CAC) (5)

DIXON nominated BOSE: declined. BOSE nominated AGARWAL: declined. BOSE nominated DIXON: declined. BOSE nominated DE GRANO: declined. BOSE nominated AKKERMAN: declined. KIDD nominated DRAPER: accepted. DIXON nominated BARAZESH: declined. BOSE nominated KIDD: accepted. DIXON nominated KONRAD: accepted. BOSE nominated BID: accepted. DRAPER nominated FOTANG: accepted. AGERWAL nominated MONTEIRO: declined. KONRAD nominated KORDE: declined.

**BID, DRAPER, FOTANG, KIDD, KONRAD** are declared appointed to the Council Administration Committee via acclamation.

#### 2020-00/7e Nomination to Finance Committee (7)

KORDE nominated via presubmission. BARAZESH nominated via presubmission. SARETZKY nominated via presubmission. AKKERMAN nominated via presubmission. DHILLON nominated BURHANI: accepted. DIXON nominated MARQUES: accepted.

**AKKERMAN, BARAZESH, DHILLON, DIXON, KORDE, SARETZKY** are declared appointed to Finance Committee via acclamation.

#### 2020-00/7f Nomination to Nominating Committee (NomCom) (5)

YABUT nominated via presubmission. OLIVEIRA nominated via presubmission. KONRAD nominated MONTEIRO: accepted. OLIVEIRA nominated DE GRANO: declined. BOSE nominated DIXON: accepted.

**DIXON, MONTEIRO, OLIVEIRA, YABUT** are declared appointed to Finance Committee via acclamation.

## 2020-00/7g Nomination to Policy Committee (6)

BATYCKI nominated via presubmission. DIXON nominated via presubmission. EINARSON nominated via presubmission. FOTANG nominated via presubmission. KIDD nominated DHILLON: accepted. DIXON nominated VILLOSO: accepted. BADESHA nominated BRANDWEIN: accepted. KORDE nominated KONRAD: declined. KONRAD nominated MONTEIRO: accepted.

# **BATYCKI, BRANDWEIN, DHILLON, DIXON, FOTANG, MONTEIRO** are declared appointed to Policy Committee via secret ballot.

#### 2020-00/7h Nomination to the Student Group Committee (2)

YABUT nominated via presubmission. FOTANG nominated via presubmission. DHILLON nominated BADESHA: accepted. BADESHA nominated FILIPOVIC: accepted.

**FILIPOVIC, FOTANG** are declared appointed to the Student Group Committee via secret ballot.

## 2020-00/7i Nomination to the Translation Committee (5)

EINARSON nominated via presubmission. DE GRANO nominated OLIVEIRA: declined.

**EINARSON** is declared appointed to Translation Committee via acclimation.

#### 2020-00/8 GENERAL ORDERS

#### 2020-00/8a Approval of Students' Council 2019-20 Meeting Schedule

**DRAPER/EINARSON MOVED** to approve the Students' Council 2020-21 Meeting Schedule.

AKKERMAN: Suggested moving the Augustana meeting date with concerns on road and travel conditions in January.

AGARWAL: Noted that Council Administration Committee can discuss amending the schedule and that current timing was due to the uncertainty of Fall Term with the current COVID-19 crisis.

#### 24/0/0 - CARRIED

## 2020-00/9 **INFORMATION ITEMS**

2020-00/9a Students' Council Committee Information.

See SC-2020-00.01.

2020-00/9b Students' Council 2019-20, Meeting Schedule.

See SC-2020-00.02.

2020-00/9c Written Nominations.

See SC-2020-00.03.

MEETING ADJOURNED AT 9:23 PM.